51 replies to this topic

#1 Ellie

Ellie

• Silver Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

• United States

Posted 17 October 2011 - 10:01 PM

So, I'm starting this topic, because apparently Shakira wants feedback on her tour and suggestions for her new album. Which is awesome! because I have many things to say.
Btw, I'm going to direct this message at Shakira, because hopefully she might read it:

Ok, so the tour:

Well, I guess I'll start out by saying that although I've been a huge fan of yours since I was approximately 11 (so 10 years ago), I'd never actually been to one of your concerts before Sale el Sol. In fact, I'd never been to a concert before ever(well, nothing fancy). So, I was studying abroad in Costa Rica while you were touring in the US (Side note: you inspired me to learn Spanish when I was 11. Now I'm studying it in college and I'm pretty much fluent :) So, thanks for that!) Anyway, after I left Costa Rica I was missing it a lot, and it occurred to me that that and the fact that it was my 21st birthday might be excuses to fly back to Costa Rica with my best friend in the middle of the semester to see you in concert. So, the fact that it was my first concert ever along with the irresponsible adventure aspect may be biases that factored into me thinking it was absolutely awesome in pretty much every way. But yeah, I thought it was amazing. Actually, that's saying a lot, because I got food poisoning in line and spent the entire concert vomiting everywhere. Haha.

But anyway, the things I liked:

I loved that you sang "la despedida," because that's ...maybe the prettiest song I've ever heard. And probably my favorite song by you.
I also just loved the whole folksy segment in general - with la despedida, gitana, and nothing else matters. And the flamenco! Also, the belly dancing in Ojos Asi was amazing. I like it when you put your own twist on things, but I also really liked the authenticity of the belly dancing there. I